Oh no, there goes my mental health!

Check out also, this TED Talk on Social Media and Mental Health spoken by Bailey Parnell – one of Canada’s Top 100 Most Powerful Women, she considers social media as the fabric of modern life or the “digital layer” where abstinence is becoming less of an option. Parnell suggests we should practice ‘safe socials’ before we experience the long-term, unintended consequences.

She begins her Talk –

youtube
Watch Here

I’m fat. Wow, I’m fat

She’s only nineteen years old, what am I doing with my life? Hey! Two likes! Nice. Do I like this photo? Does she really need more likes? I hope I’m going to be invited to the wedding. One more like, nice!

 

 

To consider this statement as a reality for young social media users, the worryingly harmful effects as a response to what is revealed in our newsfeeds has become something that should be addressed in terms of ‘millennial mental health’, promoting greater positivity in our daily, online encounters.

 

Bailey Parnell is currently pursuing her Masters in Communication and Culture with a research focus on social media and mental health, and holds an honours BA from the RTA School of Media at Ryerson, Canada.


 

EC

Leave a comment